Making New International Friends

Making New International Friends

I have a couple of good friends in my program who, like me, also have their Master’s degree and are 25 or 26 years old. Their names are Hang and Ting, and both are from China. Hang is a 6’5” big guy from Mongolia and is a really fun person to work with at the outside carts. He’s surprising good at dancing, and there’s live music every night at Downtown Disney.

The thing I like best about Ting is that she works in Pin Traders and she saves some good pins for me! She also lets me know if there’s anything good in the Vinylmation box or anything new going on in the store. She only works at Pin Traders now because she’s part-time and they’re only assigned to one store. (I rotate through five work locations in Zone 1.)

The other day, I realized I hadn’t seen Hang for a while so when he came into work, I asked him where he had been. He was like, ‘Oh, I called in sick two days in a row.’ I said, ‘Why, were you really sick or something?’, and he says, ‘No, not at all, my feet really hurt, I didn’t even move from bed, my feet hurt too bad.’

I thought this was the funniest thing ever because here at Disney they treat absences really seriously. You’re only allowed to get 3 points (which you can get from being late, calling in sick, not showing up to work), and after 3 points you get a “reprimand” which means big trouble. If you’re applying to a Professional Internship or for an extension, you can forget about getting it if you have more than those points. Anyway, he called in sick just because his feet hurt and I thought that was the funniest thing ever!

I asked him, “Why don’t you get some inserts for your shoes if they hurt so badly?’ He’d never heard of them. So I said I’d buy him a pair next time I went to Walmart and he could pay me back. I got him some and brought them into work for him. He immediately put them in his shoes and the next day thanked me on and on about how much better his feet felt. I felt pretty good about that. And he paid me back. LOL!

Another story about my friend Hang is that he “read my numbers” during our lunch break the other day. I told him my birthday (8/9/88) and since the number 8 stands for ‘Money’ apparently, he said that says a lot about me and Money since I have so many 8s in my birthday. Here’s hoping that’s true! LOL. And the number 9 stands for Royalty and is considered a very Royal number.

So there we go: Elly = Money and Royalty! Hahahahaha! 🙂

Pumpkin carving!  It's almost Halloween!!!

Pumpkin carving! It’s almost Halloween!!!

Leave a Reply

