On the Quest for Good DCP Roommates

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 8.19.50 PM

Almost as soon as I was accepted into the program, I started wondering (and worrying) about roommates. I am pretty easy to live with – I’m super clean, I’m generally quiet, and I’m friendly. My issue is that it is hard to find someone as considerate as me to live with!

I joined the Accepted Summer Alumni facebook group and also the May 26th Arrival Date facebook group to try to find someone who is similar to me and also wants the same location and room size!

The majority of the people you’ll find in the College Program are looking for the most roommates and the cheapest living option. Well…I’m the exact opposite. I lived in a 3 bedroom in Chatham with 5 other girls. And the struggle was real when it came to doing my laundry (down two flights and in another building) and just generally sharing the space with strangers! It’s hard! There was never any room in the refrigerator and definitely none in the freezer! And if you know me – I don’t like confrontation. So when I was put in with some extremely loud, opinionated girls from the East Coast, I knew it was going to be rough going for me.

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 8.09.54 PM

Because I will only be doing this program for 3 months, I want to have a pleasant living situation! I saw a lot of people posting roommate surveys on these facebook groups so I jumped in!

________________________________________________________________________

Roommate Survey

Name: Caroline Collins

Gender: Female

Relationship Status: In a relationship

Birthday/Age: Feb 18th, 23!


Current Location: Boulder, CO

School: University of Colrado at Boulder

Major: History and Secondary Education

Are you allergic/allergies to anything? Nope.

Do you have any siblings? Older sister and younger brother

DCP DETAILS

Are you applying for WDW or DL? WDW

Flying or Driving: Flying

Your Role?:  Merch!

What program are you applying for? Summer Alumni

Do you want to live in Wellness or Non-Wellness? Non-wellness

How many people do you want to live with? 1-2 bedroom, 1-3 people

Which housing complex would you like to live in? Definitely The Commons! I need the washer/dryer!

Alumni? Of course! 🙂

LIFESTYLE

Do you party? How often? Almost never. I was too tired to party much on my last program!

Do you smoke? No

Do you drink? I like getting fancy drinks on girls night out.

Can you cook? Not well.

Are you a night person or morning person? Definitely morning! I go to bed early! (like 11pm haha)

Do you snore? Nope

What does your bedroom normally look like? Spotless, extremely clean. I need everything put away and in its place!

Do you like it when your room is hot or cold? Cold.

Would you rather go out or stay in? Depends on if I’m working that day.

What do you like to do on your days off/the weekend? I love going to the parks, hanging out DTD,going to the water parks!  I also love deep cleaning on my days off and doing laundry!

Do you work out a lot? No

PERSONALITY

Three words that describe you: energetic, clean, happy

One bad quality? I need things super clean always and I have a super strict sleeping schedule or I get really grumpy.

Are you outgoing or quiet? Only quiet until I’m comfortable with people.

Do you like hanging out with people or keeping to yourself? Both depending on mood.

What would you want in a roommate? Someone who loves going to the parks as much as me, who is clean and is considerate of sharing space and things, someone who is generally quiet at night.

What are your biggest pet peeves/dislikes? Messiness, dirty dishes, being loud at night.

How do you feel about sharing? I am willing to share, just ask first!

Do you like having people over a lot? As long as it isn’t late at night, I’m fine!

Favorite thing to do: Parkhop!

Favorite Music: Taylor Swift and Katy Perry

Favorite TV Shows: HIMYM, Game of Thrones, SVU, Marry Me, Mindy Project, Fresh Off The Boat, Outlander

Favorite Movies: Romantic Comedy, Action

Favorite Food: Desserts

Favorite Candy: Chewy Spree (Red, Orange, and Purple)

Favorite Drink: Shirley Temple!

Favorite Color: Sparkly blue

DISNEY!!

Favorite Character: Evil Queen/Old Hag

Favorite Movie:  Tangled

Favorite Disney Channel Show: Girl Meets World ❤

Favorite Park: Epcot and Animal Kingdom

Favorite Ride: Everest!

_______________________________________________________________________

So clearly I was looking for someone quiet, clean, and considerate! I probably said it enough to sound like really crazy. Haha

As I started searching for roommates, every time I saw a girl post “Looking for a nonjudgmental, fun roommate!!!” all I could think was “….hard pass.” I do not want to live with someone who is up all night, scream talking with someone or having a ton of parties all the time. I want them to be at home, cleaning!

I know, I’m crazy – but a girl can dream!

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 8.11.38 PM

I talked with several girls who I thought could be a match. Almost zero people want to live in the Commons and definitely no one wanted to live in a single bedroom!

I finally found one girl from the Summer program who was interested in the Commons. I talked to her a little bit and she seemed nice. She was waiting to see if her two friends were also accepted to figure out rooming.

I also found a girl in the Arrivals group that I was super interested in living with. She seems really nice, quiet, and clean! We talked a lot for the past two months and I was really looking forward to living with her!

But then…(to be continued)

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 8.14.51 PM

Bonding with other alumni is like:

***************************************

DAK pin trading (2)

Working the pin board at DAK.

Two Girls and a Mouse Tale

   by Elly Collins & Caroline Collins

Ever wonder what it’s like to work for Disney???

We worked at WDW for a year in the Disney College Program and have written a book about what it’s like to be a cast member working for Disney.

We’ve included advice on how to successfully get into the DCP program, including some of the actual phone interview questions, how to have a successful internship, and how not self-term before your program ends. Our book is filled with lots of behind-the-scene stories of the magic of Disney. Available now at Amazon.com in paperback and Kindle formats. Published by Theme Park Press.

Book link on Amazon.com:  Two Girls and a Mouse Tale

*** 

5 thoughts on “On the Quest for Good DCP Roommates

  1. Whitney says:

    I have a question. How exactly did you find the facebook groups? Did they add you or do I have to request to be in them? I am just confused. I am wanting to find roommates that have the same interests as me.
    Thank you!!

    Like

  2. Megan says:

    I know you have to live with people who are arriving on the same day as you but do you have to live with people, if you are flying do they have to be flying or can they be driving tabs you can still live with them?

    Like

    • You set it up in the DORMS app to have the same program start date as your roommates.
      You used to have to be in line together at Vista Way to be assigned together, but that’s no longer true.
      Your programs just need to start on the same day.
      So, roommates can get to WDW anyway they want, fly, drive, train, etc. Doesn’t matter.
      Disney Housing (via DORMS) assigns the check-in day and time now based on your program start date.

      Like

  3. […] As you know, I have been using Facebook to find a good roommate match.  You can read about that here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

