Disney College Program Traditions Class

100_6781

Welcome to Traditions!

****WARNING!!! This blog contains a step-by-step account of Disney’s Traditions class, including some surprises and magical moments!****

The first step to becoming a Disney Cast Member is Traditions.  This is basically a job orientation class that teaches you everything about the Disney Company and all the great reasons you should be proud to be working here!

traditions

Don’t forget to bring your photo ID!!!

There are typically two sessions: a morning one at 8am and an afternoon one at 2:30pm.  It is sorted alphabetically by last name.  Since my last name is Collins, I had to wake up at 5am to get on the bus at 6:55am to make it to class ontime!  Good thing I’m an early riser!

It’s always super obvious who is going to Traditions since everyone is wearing nice clothing by the bus stop. I went with my new roommate, Kelly.  All of my other 6 roommates have last names after M, so they’ll be attending the afternoon session.

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 2.34.24 PM

Cast member Caroline! That’s me!!!  🙂

As we were waiting for the morning session to start, I spotted my name on the powerpoint! How cute is that??

The best part about being at Disney University are the decorations!  All the walls have massive, colorful Disney artwork with inspirational quotes.

100_6779

Making Magic

We were led into a large room with several tables set up.  In the middle of each table were giant red boxes.  What could be in them??

100_6780

The Big Red Box with a surprise inside for us.

I wanted to open it so badly!!

This is me, vigorously shaking the secret box before class!

100_6782

Wearing my new Mickey Ears!

It had Mickey Ears for everyone! Yay!

To start off Traditions, the two speakers, Disney coordinators, do some Disney trivia questions.  They don’t mess around with easy ones either!

I didn’t really know the answer to most of the questions.

Let’s see if you know the answers…

1.  What was the first Disney broadway show?

2.  What are Ursula’s sidekicks’ names?

3.  When Disneyland was first built, which land was the largest?

4.  Which two characters debuted in Steamboat Willie?

5.  What attraction has been moved around 3 times?

FINALLY, a question I knew and my hand shot up in the air!

The question was:

6.  What was the first show to come to Animal Kingdom, originally located in Camp Minnie Mickey, but has now been moved to Africa?

If you remember, I used to work at a lone merchandise cart there!  Answer: The Festival of Lion King!

image2

My prize pin!

The BEST part?? I got a Disney trading pin for having the right answer!

After two hours of class (10am), I was STARVING!  I remembered to pack a chewy bar and a baggie of Cheese-its since I knew it would be a couple hours before the first break.

I started “secretly” eating my chewy bar and when I looked up, my entire table and the next table had taken my cue and also got out their own chewy bars to eat! haha. We were all hungry!

Since I had already done Traditions before, I knew what was coming next….Everyone onto the buses for a quick trip to the Magic Kingdom.

100_6783

Wearing my new dress and whisper ears. Warm day!

Here is me, wearing the “whisper ears” we used to walk through the MK park.  I love when our guides allowed us to stop and take some selfies in front of the castle.

After we got back to the classroom at Disney University, we received our blue company IDs and were wrapping the class up, when the presenters announced that a special guest was here to deliver some magic to us!

Even though I already knew what was going to happen next, I was still so excited!

100_6785

It’s the Boss!!!!

100_6788

“Hi, everybody!”

100_6789

See you later, pal.

Mickey delivering my new Disney nametag!

And, check out all the swag I got in class!  I got the Donald figurine for correctly answering a question about the Four Keys.

image1

My new nametag!  Tears…..

I was so excited by the end of class!

Traditions is a great way to kick off your career at Disney!

It makes me so excited and thankful for this opportunity!  I never thought that I would work for Disney again!

100_6794

Some final advice for DCPers: Bring snacks and a water bottle!  You will be HUNGRY!  Traditions went from 8am to 2pm, and you only  get one 10 minute break!  Definitely eat breakfast before you go and bring snacks to eat while you’re watching the presentations and riding on the bus.

And since you will be walking around outside in the hot Florida weather, you’ll need to stay hydrated and be able to get a quick refill of your water bottle.  Even with my snacks, I was extremely ready for lunch!

To read about my first time at Traditions, click here.

9pm, at the Magic Kingdom with friends:  Using my new ID for the first time.

9pm, at the Magic Kingdom with friends: Using my new ID for the first time.

***************************************

DAK pin trading (2)

Working at DAK with the pinboard for guests to pin trade.

Two Girls and a Mouse Tale

   by Elly Collins & Caroline Collins

Ever wonder what it’s like to work for Disney???

We worked at WDW for a year in the Disney College Program and have written a book about what it’s like to be a cast member working for Disney.

We’ve included advice on how to successfully get into the DCP program, including some of the actual phone interview questions, how to have a successful internship, and how not self-term before your program ends. Our book is filled with lots of behind-the-scene stories of the magic of Disney. Available now at Amazon.com in paperback and Kindle formats. Published by Theme Park Press.

Book link on Amazon.com:  Two Girls and a Mouse Tale

***

5 thoughts on “Disney College Program Traditions Class

  1. Alice says:

    My last name ends in K. Would I be in the morning or afternoon Traditions?

    Like

  2. […] your first day working for Disney, you will take the Disney Traditions class. Afterwards, you’ll get your Company ID. Your Disney ID allows you unlimited entrance to […]

    Like

  3. […] it’s covered during Traditions, many CPs don’t pay attention to the Points and Reprimands lecture.  It’s also in your DCP […]

    Like

  4. […] your first day working for Disney, you will take the Disney Traditions class. Afterwards, you’ll get your Company ID. Your Disney ID allows you unlimited entrance to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

