My First Week at DCP Program

Earning my ears.

Earning my ears.

I can’t believe how fast the first week flew by!

Monday, May 25th:  Fly down to Orlando

6:30am: At the airport this morning with my three bags of luggage, my backpack, and my carry-on.

6:30am: At the airport this morning with my three bags of luggage, my backpack, and my carry-on.

I got up at 5am to catch an 8am flight to Orlando.

Tuesday, May 26: Check-in Day

First floor apartment this time, at the back of the complex by the pool.

First floor apartment this time, at the back of the Chatham complex by the pool.

7:30am check-in time at Vista Way

Chatham Square

Housing ID: Chatham Square

Got my apartment key, Housing ID, DAK role assignment
Moved in to Chatham apartment, went grocery shopping

Wednesday, May 27:  Meet up with Friends

My super delicious sandwich!  I have missed eating at EOS!!!

My super delicious sandwich! I have missed eating at Earl of Sandwich!!!

Lunch at DTD

Thursday, May 28: Fun at Mickey’s Retreat

Two big, beautiful pools.  No one there except for some new CPs taking their lifeguarding tests.

Two big, beautiful pools. No one there except for some new CPs taking their lifeguarding tests.

Can’t get into the parks, don’t have my blue ID yet.

But, Mickey’s Retreat is right next to Chatham.  I can get in for free

by showing my housing ID.

Friday, May 29:  Traditions!

Finally!  I get my blue ID.  I work for Disney…

Welcome to Traditions!

Welcome to Traditions!

Walking tour of the Magic Kingdom

Walking tour of the Magic Kingdom

Saturday, May 30:  Park time with Friends!!

Liberty Bell, MK

Liberty Bell, MK

Epcot!

Epcot!

Sunday, May 31: Training Day at Disney University

Safety training classes.

Safety training classes.

Monday, June 1: Training at DAK (business casual)

Walking tour of DAK

Walking tour of DAK

Went to DAK Costuming and got 5 costumes

Tuesday, June 2: Training at DAK

First time in new costume!

Wednesday, June 3:  Working at DAK!

First time in my new costume!  #MomShorts

First time in my new costume! #MomShorts

My new

My new “rugged” brown shoes (with inserts, of course!)

So, that’s how my first week back at Disney went!

Second week schedule

Second week schedule

***************************************
http://www.amazon.com/Girls-Mouse-Tale-Elly-Collins/dp/1941500110/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1430687055&sr=1-1&keywords=two+girls+and+a+mouse+tale

Two Girls and a Mouse Tale by Elly Collins & Caroline Collins
We worked at WDW for a year in the Disney College Program (Fall 2013/Spring 2014) and have written a book about what it’s like to be a cast member working for Disney.

We included advice on how to successfully get into the DCP program, including some of the actual phone interview questions, how to have a successful internship, and how not self-term before your program ends. Our book is filled with lots of behind-the-scene stories of the magic of Disney.

Available now at Amazon.com in paperback and Kindle formats. Published by Theme Park Press.

Leave a Reply

