About My New Work Location – Disney’s Animal Kingdom Stroller Rental

DAK-Entrance

DAK

I’m finally finished with my training!

I had five days of training where I got to walk around my new work location and watch other cast members do what I will be doing for the next couple of months.  The first couple of days are supposed to be a lot of online e-learning about safety and Disney company policies.

I had no idea about how many work locations are at my new area at DAK.

Luckily, it’s not all carts and strollers!

garden_gate_gifts_001

I’ve never seen it look like this…maybe Christmas time?  So many carts at the ready…

On the right side of DAK’s Main Entrance is Stroller Rental which is basically like a big parking garage for strollers and the electric conveyance vehicles (ECVs).  My best guess is there are around 65 ECVs and more than 200 strollers to rent.  I could be wrong though!  Seems like a ton! (I’ll update this when it’s my job to count them at night!)

There is also Garden Gate Gifts, which is where you work with a Photopass CMs helping guest’s pick out and print photos taken in the park.  This is also where guests can buy and activate magic bands.

Locker-Animal

Lockers

On the left side of Main Entrance, there’s Locker Rental and Garden Gate Cart.  I like Lockers because it’s very easy!  The majority of the purchases are for chilled water bottles. (At $2.75, always bring your own!)

the-outpost-shop-00

The Outpost shop at the front entrance.

I didn’t realize that there are also stores outside the park that I have to work at too.

On the left side in front of the main entrance is the Outpost which is the exact same design as Pin Traders at Downtown Disney, except there isn’t a secret stockroom in the center of the building.  It has several open garage doors, so there is no air conditioning at all.  This store sells hats and small DAK-related items.

outpost-shop-2014-02-09-5265

Building design is exactly like Pin Traders at DTD.

Across from this store, on the right side, is Outpost Cart and Kiosk.  The kiosk is one of the Flower and Garden Festival kiosks that is just holding extra DAK merchandise.  There is absolutely no shade to stand under at this location!  Not my favorite.

My final training day was all about renting and operating strollers and the ECV electric scooters.  There’s a position called Stack/Unstack where you have to prepare the single and double strollers for guests.  You have to grab them and basically stack them on top of each other until they are 5 high.  That is up to my shoulder!  The double strollers are pretty heavy, so I know I’ll have a lot of back pain doing that.  You’re typically in this position for 3 hours before you get “bumped” or rotated out.

Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 3.57.54 PM

Strollers.

The biggest and most important difference between my two DAK locations -last time and now –  is that there is literally no position that has air conditioning in Main Entrance.

Coming from Colorado, where it was still basically winter when I left for the program, and now dealing with all the Florida summer heat and humidity….it is going to be TOUGH.  😦

Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 3.51.46 PMOne last photo of my new costume!  I feel like such a nerd with the shirt tucked in and the belt, but it is roomy and I love the colors!

***************************************

Two GirlsTwo Girls and a Mouse Tale
by Elly Collins & Caroline Collins
We worked at WDW for a year in the Disney College Program (Fall 2013/Spring 2014) and have written a book about what it’s like to be a cast member working for Disney.
We included advice on how to successfully get into the DCP program, including some of the actual phone interview questions, how to have a successful internship, and how not self-term before your program ends. Our book is filled with lots of behind-the-scene stories of the magic of Disney.
Available now at Amazon.com in paperback and Kindle formats. Published by Theme Park Press.

http://www.amazon.com/Girls-Mouse-Tale-Elly-Collins/dp/1941500110/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1430687055&sr=1-1&keywords=two+girls+and+a+mouse+tale
***

Leave a Reply

