Boma Dinner at Disney’s Animal Kingdom Lodge

Screen Shot 2015-08-22 at 11.27.00 AM

At Boma – The Flavors of Africa restaurant with my DCP friends

I am so excited because I finally completed my DAK Dining experience!

Until now, I’ve eaten at every Disney’s Animal Kingdom Lodge restaurant, except for Boma – The Flavors of Africa.

100_7364

Boma’s Bill of Fare restaurant prices (July 2015),  Dinner was $39.99, but cast members get a 20% discount.

I finally was able to cross it off my Disney Bucket List by eating dinner there with my DCP friends. 🙂

100_7361

Restaurant’s African  motif.

Boma is located downstairs in the main Jambo house.  It is across from the fancier DAK restaurant, Jiko.

100_7363

The buffet line.

It is a buffet-style dining experience billed as ‘family-friendly’.  It’s not a character meal.

100_7367

Cold salads.

100_7369

Hot meat station with sauces.

100_7368

Soups.

Once you are seated, you are free to get up and try any of the extensive African-themed cuisine.  There is a meat carving station, a cold dish area, a soup area, and also a bread sampling station with several sauces to try.

100_7383

Breads.

100_7373

My first trip through the buffet line.

I absolutely loved the cashew crusted salmon on the left!

But, my favorite part of the dinner was the desserts!!

100_7382

Dessert station.

100_7385

More desserts!

People are obsessed with Zebra domes – the striped round dessert.  It is like white mouse covered in gelatin?  I know people who will go to Boma JUST for this dessert – but I wasn’t convinced! haha

My favorite dessert was the coffee flavored whipped cream in the chocolate shell! Yum!

100_7380The meal at Boma was delicious.  I won’t lie though, I actually think I prefer Sanaa.  It’s a very similar dining experience, but Sanaa is more intimate and the restaurant has better theming.  Boma is a huge restaurant seating more than 1,000 guest a day.

To read mre about my other Disney’s Animal Kingdom Lodge dining experiences:

Jiko Restaurant 

Sanaa Restaurant with Friends

Sanaa Restaurant with Elly

***************************************

Two Girls 

Two Girls and a Mouse Tale

   by Elly Collins & Caroline Collins

Ever wonder what it’s like to work for Disney???

We worked at WDW for a year in the Disney College Program (Fall 2013/Spring 2014) and have written a book about what it’s like to be a cast member working for Disney.

We’ve included advice on how to successfully get into the DCP program, including some of the actual phone interview questions, how to have a successful internship, and how not self-term before your program ends. Our book is filled with lots of behind-the-scene stories of the magic of Disney.

http://www.amazon.com/Girls-Mouse-Tale-Elly-Collins/dp/1941500110/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1430687055&sr=1-1&keywords=two+girls+and+a+mouse+tale

Available now at Amazon.com in paperback and Kindle formats. Published by Theme Park Press.

***

Leave a Reply

