Breakfast Buffet at Trail’s End Restaurant with my Friends

Trail's End Restaurant at Fort Wilderness Campground

Welcome to Trail’s End Restaurant at Fort Wilderness Campground

This summer is just flying by!  I can’t believe that I’ve already passed the half way point of my program.

When I woke up this morning, I started thinking about my Disney Dining bucket list and all the places that I had planned on eating at this summer.  If I was going to cross off as many restaurants as possible in my remaining program time, I had to start making some dining reservations fast!

I started texting my CP friends and realized that while all my friends were interested in dining at the popular Disney restaurants, it would be very hard to plan around everyone’s work schedules.  During my break at work today, I got out my phone and started checking the available dining reservations for large groups.  While talking with my coordinator earlier, she told me to check out a place called Trail’s End Restaurant.  She said that the food was very good there. I had never heard of it, but I looked it up and saw it was at the Fort Wilderness campground.  The online reviews all said that it was the best breakfast on property.

I booked a reservation for 10 people for the first day available, this Thursday, just two days away!  Since the Strollers CPs is such a small group, I just told everyone about the reservation and said that if they had it off from work and wanted to come, they were welcome!

I felt lucky to get a dining reservation for such a large group during the peak summer season on such short notice.  Disney Dining takes reservations 180 days out and most places book up fast, especially in the summertime.  There’s a big controversy going on now because several third party websites are snapping up all the Disney Dining reservations as soon as they become available at midnight on 180 days out, and then selling the reservation to guests for a fee.  Disney is finally starting to crack down on that profiteering.

Fort Wilderness isn’t the easiest place to get to.  For CPs, we have to first ride the A bus toward the Magic Kingdom and get off at the Wilderness Resort.  I’m always surprised when I’m with cast members who haven’t explored all the resorts yet – especially the deluxe Disney resorts because the theming in them is so beautiful!

Waiting at the boat dock.

Waiting at the boat dock.

As we were coming from different apartment complexes, we decided to meet up at the Wilderness Resort on Thursday morning at 10am.  After checking out the rustic-looking lobby, we all headed to the boat.  You have to take a short boat ride over to Fort Wilderness campground to get to Trail’s End restaurant, so you can imagine the extra time we had to build into our schedule for getting there on time!  The boat dropped us right off in front of some really cute Disney horses at the Wilderness stables.  Unfortunately, there was no time to admire them as we were already 30 minutes late for our reservation, so we literally were running over to the restaurant so they wouldn’t drop our reservation!

So rustic looking!

So rustic looking!  Fits perfectly with the Fort Wilderness theme.

When we got there, we saw that there were also two other large parties waiting to eat.  We all sat down outside in the warm sun, and only had to wait about 15 minutes for our party to be called.  But, that is a long time in “Caroline World” when I’m hungry and breakfast is involved!  I went into the restaurant starving!

te7 (2)

Buffet stations with tons of food.

te8 (2)The nicest cast member called us in and seated us at a big table.

Moonshine juice in glass canning jars.

Moonshine juice in glass canning jars.

We were immediately served the most delicious “moonshine” drink!  We all were nervous for a second because some of the CPs in our group are under 21 but, after I taste tested it, I realized it was actually a yummy mixture of chilled orange juice, peach juice, and pineapple juice.  Refreshing!

The fireplace.

The fireplace.  Dad would like the elk head mounted over the fireplace!

Trail’s End is a pretty small restaurant, and it’s set up buffet serving style.  A few minutes after being seated, we all got up and went over to the different stations of food.  I loved how everything was served on western-style tin plates and all the restaurant’s western décor, including a real buffalo head mounted on the wall and the stone fireplace, which was not lit because it was 95 degrees out.

My favorite dish was the French Toast Bake, a house specialty, and all the egg dishes.  There were huge serving platters of crisp bacon and grilled sausages.  It was all delicious!

Food photos!

Food photos!  The scrambled eggs were delicious!

Everything looked delicious!!

Everything looked so fresh and tasty!!  I was starving!

te6 (2)

Bagels and cream cheese.

We were so excited when we got the bill because we didn’t realize that the breakfast was 40% off for cast members.  For that giant breakfast, it was only $14.99!!  I have eaten a lot of breakfasts around the Disney World property and I would definitely say that Trail’s End is the best breakfast of them all!  It was definitely worth the effort it took to get to Fort Wilderness from our DCP apartments!

Breakfast with my friends.

Breakfast with my friends.

DAK CPs are the best!

DAK CPs are the best!

After breakfast, we rode the boat back to the Wilderness Lodge to head home.  As I was walking out of the front door of the lodge heading toward the cast bus, I felt a painful prick on my back.  I tried to reach it with my hand, but it was right on the edge of my shoulder blade and I couldn’t reach it.

I looked over at my friend, Ricky, and asked him, “Is there a bee on me??!”  He looked at my back and I actually had one on me, stinging me right then!  He bravely swatted it off me and then checked my back.  The pain was horrible!  Because the sting was on my shoulder blade, the pain was racing down my arm and making my arm twitch uncontrollably!  I knew that the resort would have medicine at the first aid station to treat bee stings, but I also knew that the cast bus would be there within minutes.

I did what any 20-something would do when in trouble:  I got out my phone and called my mom. After telling her all about the bee sting and my pain level (10), she told Ricky how to get the stinger out and to take Benadryl and Advil when I got home.  Ricky was such a good friend!  He diligently used a credit card to scrap over the bump to make sure the venomous stinger was gone, and he also took several photos for me so I could see what was going on back there. It hurt so much!

My bee sting. :(

My bee sting. 😦

I told Ricky that I thought I was very brave because I didn’t cry or freak out while the bee was stinging me, when I totally could have!  Ricky just looked at me and shook his head. (Maybe I wasn’t as brave as I thought I was…)

It took all day for the bee sting pain to go away, and it was actually several weeks before you couldn’t see the mark on my shoulder where I was stung.

Breakfast at Trail’s End was definitely a wild adventure I won’t forget!

Trail’s End Breakfast Buffet (Updated: 07/15)

Entree/Main Courses
Bounty Breakfast – served with Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Hash Browns, French Toast, and Biscuit – $8.79
Breakfast Buffet – Scrambled Eggs, Sausage and Bacon, Breakfast Pizza, Breakfast Hash, Mickey Waffles, Eggs Benedict, Biscuits and Sausage Gravy, Specialty Country Pork Dish, French Toast-Custard Pudding, Cheese Grits, Oatmeal, Yogurt Parfait Station, Freshly-baked Pastries, Vegetable Frittata – $17.99 [RECOMMENDED!]

Side Dishes
Biscuits and Gravy – Biscuits and Gravy – $3.69
Blueberry Yogurt – Blueberry Yogurt – $1.99
Cinnamon Roll – Cinnamon Roll – $3.19
Fruit Plate – Fruit Plate – $3.39
Muffin – Muffin – $2.79
Oatmeal – Oatmeal – $2.79
Warm Sticky Buns (6 each) – Warm Sticky Buns (6 each) – $4.69

Drinks
Assorted Fountain Beverages – Coca-Cola, Diet Coke, Cherry Coke, Sprite, Barq’s Root Beer, Minute Maid Light Pomegranate Lemonade, Pibb Xtra, Iced Tea – $2.99
Dasani Bottled Water – Dasani Bottled Water – $2.50
Freshly Brewed Joffrey’s Coffee – Freshly Brewed Joffrey’s Coffee – $2.79
Hot Cocoa – Hot Cocoa – $2.79
Hot Tea – Hot Tea – $2.79
Minute Maid Apple Juice – Minute Maid Apple Juice – $2.59

***************************************

working together at DAK

Working together at DAK.

Two Girls and a Mouse Tale

   by Elly Collins & Caroline Collins

Ever wonder what it’s like to work for Disney???

We worked at WDW for a year in the Disney College Program (Fall 2013/Spring 2014) and have written a book about what it’s like to be a cast member working for Disney.

We’ve included advice on how to successfully get into the DCP program, including some of the actual phone interview questions, how to have a successful internship, and how not self-term before your program ends. Our book is filled with lots of behind-the-scene stories of the magic of Disney.

http://www.amazon.com/Girls-Mouse-Tale-Elly-Collins/dp/1941500110/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1430687055&sr=1-1&keywords=two+girls+and+a+mouse+tale

Available now at Amazon.com in paperback and Kindle formats. Published by Theme Park Press.

***

Leave a Reply

