Ohana’s Character Breakfast with Friends at the Polynesian Resort

Polynesian Mickey stopping by our table.

Polynesian Mickey stopping by our table.

My best friend during the summer program, Ricky, and I planned several more character dining experiences near at the end of my time at Disney.

The day after trying the fabulous breakfast buffet at Trail’s End Restaurant, we planned a character breakfast at Ohana’s at the Polynesian Resort.  Fewer coworkers were able to come with us because of their hectic work schedules, so I invited my roommate, Hannah, to come along. She loves Lilo and Stitch, and hadn’t met them yet in any of the parks.  (She wasn’t able to come with us for our roommate breakfast at Crystal Palace a few weeks ago because of work.)

Unfortunately, when I woke up the morning of the breakfast, I immediately realized that I was sick. Really, really sick. I could barely stand up in the shower and my skin felt so sensitive that the shower water actually hurt my skin.  (This is the downside of working at a world class theme park.  You are exposed to germs and viruses from across the planet every day!)  I knew I couldn’t bail on my roommate and all my coworkers; I had to go to the breakfast no matter what.

We were all dressing up for the fancy breakfast at 10am and had to catch a cast bus to the Polynesian.  Because the buses sometimes run late, and the fact that we’re all college kids, I’m always surprised when the whole group is actually ready on time. I think it must be because most of my coworker friends are ICPs in the international program.  They have a different sense of time and are always punctual.  They’re rarely, if ever, late for anything.

Our group with Pluto

Our group with Pluto

We got to Ohana’s and were immediately seated and given a basket full of yummy, freshly-baked Hawaiian bread.  Ohana’s serves the breakfast food family style to the table, in gigantic metal bowls with large spoons to serve yourself onto your individual plates.

My friend Ricky is always checking his phone!

My friend Ricky is always checking his phone!

I was really excited to get some more chilled “moonshine” juice just like they served at Trail’s End restaurant yesterday, but here it’s called P.O.G juice, which stands for pineapple, orange and guava juice.  It was perfection.

Carafes of P.O.G. juice.

Carafes of chilled P.O.G. juice.

I love the Mickey Waffles and order them whenever I can.  I was happy to see that they not only had Mickey Waffles, they also had Stitch Waffles too!  Super cute!

Food photos!

Food photos!

Lilo

Lilo stopping by.

While we were eating, Polynesian Mickey, Stitch, Lilo, and Pluto all came by our table to visit us.  I had forgotten how short Stitch is!  Halfway through breakfast, Hawaiian music started playing and all the kids got up and started parading around the restaurant, laughing with the characters.  I loved it!

We ate it all!

We ate it all!

After we were done stuffing ourselves silly with eggs and waffles, half our group went to the Magic Kingdom to play, and the other half – my group – caught a cast bus to the Animal Kingdom to get to work on time.  I was feeling worse and worse as the breakfast wore on, but still had to make it to work. I ended up working for just two hours before I couldn’t take it anymore and asked for an ER (early release from shift).

I wasn’t sure if my feeling sick was related to getting stung by a bee the day before or not, but I think so.  I should have taken more Benadryl before leaving my apartment.  I told my managers that I thought I might be having an allergic reaction to my bee sting.  My managers were so kind and immediately sent me home with some Benadryl from the first aid kit.  I got an ROS – Relief of Shift on my record.  It isn’t a point or a negative mark, but if you get a lot of these on your record in a short period of time, it can look bad.  This is the first time that I’ve missed work during this program.

I went home and immediate took a long nap.  I had get better fast because my friend Ricky had planned a great International Lasagna Dinner for later on in the evening and everyone was coming to it.  I couldn’t miss that!

“Ohana’s Best Friends Breakfast featuring Lilo and Stitch”

Breakfast Menu, July 2015

Served 7:30am – 11am, $24.99

The ‘All you care to eat’ meal is brought table-side by servers. Sweet bread, fruit, breakfast skillet, and Mickey Waffles are brought to your table as soon as you’re seated.

Basket of Sweet Hawaiian Breads

Seasonal Fruit

Hawaiian breakfast platter for the table includes:

Hua Paka (Scrambled Eggs) – made fresh, hot & delicious

Uala Kahiki (Fried Potatoes) – island-style potatoes, with caramelized onions & scallions

Pua’a (Pork) – pork breakfast sausage links & smoked bacon

Mickey or Stitch Waffles – brought tableside by a server

Beverages:

Unlimited P.O.G. juice – the juice is a blend of pineapple, orange and guava juices

Milk, hot cocoa, bottled water, coffee, and tea

***************************************

working together at DAK

Working together at DAK.

Two Girls and a Mouse Tale

   by Elly Collins & Caroline Collins

Ever wonder what it’s like to work for Disney???

We worked at WDW for a year in the Disney College Program (Fall 2013/Spring 2014) and have written a book about what it’s like to be a cast member working for Disney.

We’ve included advice on how to successfully get into the DCP program, including some of the actual phone interview questions, how to have a successful internship, and how not self-term before your program ends. Our book is filled with lots of behind-the-scene stories of the magic of Disney.

http://www.amazon.com/Girls-Mouse-Tale-Elly-Collins/dp/1941500110/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1430687055&sr=1-1&keywords=two+girls+and+a+mouse+tale

Available now at Amazon.com in paperback and Kindle formats. Published by Theme Park Press.

***

Leave a Reply

